The 2018 Cardiff Business Awards shortlist announced

The shortlist for the fourth annual Cardiff Business Awards has been announced today, with no less than 56 organisations or individuals in contention for 16 prestigious awards.

Since launching in 2015, the awards have become one of the highest profile and well-attended in the capital. Unique on the business awards calendar, these are the only awards to recognise those organisations and leaders who have made the greatest impact on the Cardiff, regional and wider UK economy over the last 12 months.

The winners of each category, as well as the Cardiff Business of the Year, will be announced at the awards evening which will be held on Friday 15th June at City Hall, Cardiff and hosted once again by BBC journalist and presenter, Sian Lloyd. 

Commenting on this year's Finalists, Professor Dylan Jones-Evans, Chair of the Judges for the Cardiff Business Awards, said: "For a fourth successive year, myself and the rest of the judging panel have been overwhelmed by the quality of award entries received this year.

"Cardiff is arguably one of the most exciting places to be in business right now. But the number of enterprises who are continually outperforming their peers both on a regional and national level often goes unnoticed. This is precisely what these awards seek to address."

Liz Brookes of Grapevine Events, co-founder of Cardiff Business Awards, added: "These awards provide the perfect platform from which to showcase the best the capital city has to offer.
"We received excellent entries from across all sectors and all of those who have been shortlisted can be immensely proud of their achievements in business over the last 12 months."

collage 1.jpg

The shortlist is as follows:

Construction Business of the Year

  • CDB Design & Build
  • CP Hire
  • Encon Construction

Creative & Digital Business of the Year, sponsored by University of South Wales

  • Big Learning Company
  • Illustrate Digital
  • Smörgåsbord
  • Sotic

Employer of the Year, sponsored by CPS Group

  • Apollo Wales
  • Pentan Architects
  • Yolk Recruitment

Entrepreneur of the Year, sponsored by Cardiff Metropolitan University

  • David Montgomery - Infinity Trampoline Park
  • Paul Shepherd - We Build Bots
  • Dale Williams - Yolk Recruitment

Family Business of the Year

  • Heath Windows and Doors
  • The Print Centre Group
  • Sweetmans & Partners

Financial & Professional Services Business of the Year, sponsored by Odgers Berndtson (Wales)

  • CJCH Solicitors
  • Howells Legal
  • Quantum Advisory
  • Wynne-Jones IP

Green Business of the Year, sponsored by Wales Environmental

  • CELSA Steel UK
  • Genesis Biosciences
  • Thermal Impaction Group

Community Business of the Year, sponsored by ICAEW

  • Friends for Pets
  • Living Magazines
  • Riverside Real Food
  • Tramshed Tech

Innovation Business of the Year, sponsored by Welsh Government

  • Genesis Biosciences
  • Sports Injury Fix
  • Thermal Compaction Group

International Business of the Year, sponsored by Eversheds Sutherland

  • CJCH Solicitors
  • Hague Computer Supplies
  • TrakCel

Leisure, Hospitality & Retail Business of the Year, sponsored by FOR Cardiff

  • Clayton Hotel Cardiff
  • DEPOT Cardiff
  • Park Plaza Hotel
  • RGifts

SME of the Year, sponsored by Yard

  • CP Hire
  • CPS Group (UK)
  • Exhibit Group
  • Glamorgan Telecom

Social Enterprise of the Year, sponsored by CQ (Capital Quarter)

  • Cycle Training Wales
  • ProMo-Cymru
  • Riverside Real Food

Start-Up Business of the Year, sponsored by LexisNexis Risk Solutions

  • CDB Design & Build
  • Paperclip
  • Simply Do Ideas
  • The Studio

Technology Business of the Year, sponsored by Cardiff University

  • TrakCel
  • We Build Bots

Young Business Person of the Year, sponsored by Bluegg

  • Helen A'Bear - Eversheds Sutherland
  • Scott Jones - Illustrate Digital
  • Nick Saunders - DEPOT Cardiff

The 2018 awards are sponsored by some of the city's most prominent businesses, including: NatWest (headline sponsor), Bluegg, CQ (Capital Quarter), Cardiff Business Club, Cardiff Council, Cardiff Council, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Cardiff University, Clearly PR & Marketing Communications, Cleartech Live, CPS Group, Evershed Sutherland, FOR Cardiff, Grapevine Event Management, ICAEW, LexisNexis Risk Solutions, Odgers Berndtson (Wales), University of South Wales, Wales Environmental, Welsh Government, Yard Digital.

The awards ceremony will be held on 15th June 2018 at City Hall, Cardiff. For more information, please visit: